They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Basic smartphone question

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 10.

Basic smartphone question

Postby AVITRY » Wed Oct 07, 2015 8:10 am

Hi everyone! As some of you guys know, I'm not really very savvy with the newer file formats. What I do is redundant vhs to dvd on my canopus 300.

In fact, I just recently entered the new age by trading in my track phone flip for a track phone LG smart phone. Now I can hardly take a phone call. LOL

Anyway, I shot a short video on this new phone (which was a miracle in and of itself). It's only a 2 minute clip but I have a few questions. It says MP4 in the file type on the phone when I downloaded it to my PC.

First, I tried to load it in PE 10 just to cut out a 3 second segment that showed a dog barking in the middle of this clip. and secondly, to separate the video from the audio in an effort to remove the audio entirely, and then resave the file.

When I loaded the clip, I didn't know which type video file to select for my project. I chose AVHC 24f. The resulting video came out in the program sideways. Tough to edit.

Can anyone help me to either rotate this clip, or start over with the correct project settings, and then advise me on removing audio. Is this about the same as PE3? (which is really all I use) I've only opened this PE 10 one other time.

sorry for being so ancient ...

joe
ASRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen/3 motherboard. Core i7 2600 and 16 gigs of ddr3. SSD Crucial boot drive, GTX750 Ti video card. Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
AVITRY
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:41 am

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Oct 07, 2015 9:32 am

Well, yes, you can rotate the clip -- Just right-click on it on the timeline and select the Rotate option.

But, if you're going to be editing mp4s from a smartphone, I'd very much recommend you upgrade to at least version 11, preferably version 13 or 14. Version 10 just doesn't do mp4s well.

Also, since version 11 the program sets its project up automatically, based on the first clip you place on your timeline, which saves you a lot of guessing and frustration.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 07, 2015 10:02 am

One thing about taking video with a new phone Joe, you need to hold it sideways to get the video to come out without needing to be rotated. Think of it as a widescreen camera, you always need to keep it lengthwise along the horizon, hope that is easy enough to understand. You can always turn the camera but then you will need to rotate and will end up with your video cropped in many cases.

I agree with Steve that an upgrade is probably a good idea however version 10 is still probably my favorite version. I keep it around for those times when any other version won't work :) The newer versions will choose the project settings for you and you can even combine various types of video in the same project very easily.

With version 10 you just need to match the frame rate and size with a compatible project type and sometimes that takes a little trial and error. Just remember that if you take video with the length of the phone up and down rather than right and left you will most likely have to rotate the video no matter what. It's a good idea to get used to taking photos and video with the camera lengthwise in your hands.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby AVITRY » Wed Oct 07, 2015 1:13 pm

Thanks much guys! Going to ebay right now to find ver. 13 or so .... thanks!


edit *** just curious Steve ... I see you skipped mentioning ver. 12 Is there a reason? Just in case I find a good price on that vers.

regards,
joe
ASRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen/3 motherboard. Core i7 2600 and 16 gigs of ddr3. SSD Crucial boot drive, GTX750 Ti video card. Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
AVITRY
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:41 am

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 07, 2015 2:15 pm

I don't think he skipped it because there is anything wrong with it Joe :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby AVITRY » Wed Oct 07, 2015 3:57 pm

Thanks Chuck, thanks Steve. Another small nuance ... Chuck I think you might remember I'm clutching on to Windows XP Pro for all my life because I use DVD Workshop on a daily basis and it won't run on the newer versions.

My question is ... vers. 13 of PE says it needs Win. 7 and above. I"m hopeful this is merely because support for XP is gone.

Will vers. 13 run on XP Pro?

thanks,
joe
ASRock Z68 Extreme 4 Gen/3 motherboard. Core i7 2600 and 16 gigs of ddr3. SSD Crucial boot drive, GTX750 Ti video card. Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit.
AVITRY
Senior Contributor
Senior Contributor
 
Posts: 345
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 11:41 am

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Steve Grisetti » Wed Oct 07, 2015 5:10 pm

I couldn't even speculate, Joe. Try downloading the free trial of version 14 from the Adobe site and see if it works.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Peru » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:29 pm

You might be able to use Windows 7 and install Windows XP Mode:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/wind ... -windows-7
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3000
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Basic smartphone question

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Oct 07, 2015 6:56 pm

I ran up to version 10 on XP and then switched to Windows 7. I think you may run into issues trying to run newer versions on anything less than Windows 7. Might be time to make some changes Joe ;)

But like Peru says, it may be worth giving the trial a test drive but I am thinking that the newer versions need 64 bit support (or is that just Premiere Pro?) :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 10 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron