They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 7.

Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby andy4quarts » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:04 pm

I am attempting to import DVCPRO HD 720p60 video files that I shot into PE7 and I receive a "missing codec" error message. I do not see those exact project settings as an option for a new project, so could that be what is wrong?

As a last result I could load them into a friend's CS4 system and then export into a usable format that PE7 could use (and still retain the HD quality), but I'd like to skip that step if at all possible. Trying to cut down on the amount of work to edit these files.

Any suggestions? Ideas? Thanks for your help!

Andy
andy4quarts
New User
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby andy4quarts » Tue Nov 17, 2009 10:07 pm

FYI- They are .mov files and I have the current Quicktime updated in case that matters.
andy4quarts
New User
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Nov 18, 2009 12:07 am

How are you adding them to your project and at what point and in what panel do you get the missing codec message?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17379
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby andy4quarts » Thu Nov 19, 2009 7:52 am

I import by using the "Add Media" option. It starts to load them like normal with the status bar slowly advancing from left to right, and then I receive the message. It's small "error" window right smack in the middle of the screen.
andy4quarts
New User
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:00 am

Have you checked to see if the clips still end up in your project Media Panel?
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17379
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby andy4quarts » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:02 pm

Yeah I have and they don't. Is PE7 supposed to recognize this format?
andy4quarts
New User
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby Chuck Engels » Thu Nov 19, 2009 10:27 pm

The 720p project preset in Premiere Elements is only 30 and not 60, that is one problem. The other is that there is no DVCPro HD project setting at all like there his in Premiere Pro. Maybe someone else has found a way to use DVCPro HD 720p 60 video in their projects.

I'm not sure what the best export settings would be from Pro, probably 720p 30, that's what the project setting is but that is standard HDV not DVCPro HD.

Hopefully someone will come along that has already been through this and has a definite answer :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17379
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby andy4quarts » Sun Nov 22, 2009 10:37 pm

I ended up converting all the files to an Mp4 HDTV 720 30p format, and then they would import into PE7 just fine. I tried many different types, and that one seemed to look the best and flow the smoothest. I believe that's a bit lower quality, though, as the file sizes were DRASTICALLY reduced.

Too bad I had to loose the original quality but that's a limitation of PE7 I guess. It's still a great editing program for the buck though!

Any ideas f PE8 offers more project settings? I haven't played with the new version at all.
andy4quarts
New User
New User
 
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2009 9:02 am

Re: Importing DVCPRO HD Blues

Postby Chuck Engels » Sun Nov 22, 2009 11:01 pm

Thanks for the update, we really appreciate it :)

No new HD Presets in version 8, you can check out Steve's What's New In Version 8 article
http://muvipix.com/PE8.swf

Premiere Pro could handle the original file without a problem.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17379
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 7 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron