They're here! More Muvipix.com Guides by Steve Grisetti!
The Muvipix.com Guides to Premiere & Photoshop Elements 2018
Not quite sure what our site has to offer?
Check out the
Muvipix Video Tour

Rendering

Specific to Premiere Elements Version 12.

Rendering

Postby a1director » Mon Jan 08, 2018 5:21 pm

I have finished a rough draft of a 51 minute video. I render it which sometimes can take over 5 hours. When rendered I save the project. The next time I open the project add some graphics, I notice it is not rendered. I don'T have the green line indicator over the time line, so I have to render again. Why does this happen?
a1director
New User
New User
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun May 04, 2014 12:53 pm

Re: Rendering

Postby Peru » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:48 pm

If you add anything in on the timeline, the area on the timeline that the new media is located will need to be rendered again.
If it plays OK without rendering, you don't really need to render the timeline.
User avatar
Peru
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 3002
Joined: Wed Oct 17, 2007 12:34 pm
Location: Peru, NY, USA

Re: Rendering

Postby Steve Grisetti » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:48 pm

This was a problem with version 12 that was later remedied. Sometimes ensuring you have Quicktime 7 can fix it. But it's a version 12 thing to be sure (though I'm not sure it was completely fixed until version 14.)
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Rendering

Postby Chuck Engels » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:50 pm

Peru is right though, rendering isn't a requirement unless your timeline does not play well. Over 5 hours to render 51 minutes is a long time. If the timeline does not play smoothly then it might be time to upgrade.
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Rendering

Postby Steve Grisetti » Tue Jan 09, 2018 2:17 pm

Though before you upgrade your hardware, you may want to download the free trial of version 2018 (or version 14 or 15, if you can find them) and see if it plays any nicer with your system. It's much cheaper to buy a new copy of the program (especially if you can get version 14 or 15 or on discount) than it is to buy a whole new computer.
3.4 ghz i7-4770 running Windows 10 64-bit with 12 gigs RAM; three internal 500 gig SATA drives. Also iMac 2.6 ghz dual-core, 4 gigs of RAM, running OSX El Capitan and Boot Camp Windows 10 64-bit.
User avatar
Steve Grisetti
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 12626
Joined: Sat Feb 17, 2007 5:11 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Re: Rendering

Postby Chuck Engels » Wed Jan 10, 2018 11:58 am

I meant upgrade the program not the system :)
1. Thinkpad W530 Laptop, Core i7-3820QM Processor 8M Cache 3.70 GHz, 16 GB DDR3, NVIDIA Quadro K1000M 2GB Memory.

2. Cybertron PC - Liquid Cooled AMD FX6300, 6 cores, 3.50ghz - 32GB DDR3 - MSI GeForce GTX 960 Gaming 4G, 4GB Video Ram, 1024 Cuda Cores.
User avatar
Chuck Engels
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 17416
Joined: Sun Feb 11, 2007 10:58 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA


Return to PRE Version 12 


Similar topics


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests